A Mention in The Telegraph for Our Supper Club Little Portuguese Kitchen!

I haven’t been resting on my laurels, I promise.  I wish I was!  I found out – four days late – that the Little Portuguese Kitchen supper club Isabel and I run was included in The Telegraph’s article about the rise in popularity of Portuguese food in the UK and how it might be one of the next big food trends.

Portuguese feast: a range of dishes at Nuno Mendes's new restaurant, Taberna do Mercado Photo: Joe Woodhouse
Portuguese feast: a range of dishes at Nuno Mendes’s new restaurant, Taberna do Mercado Photo: Joe Woodhouse – Taken from The Telegraph

And also in the Portuguese Observador!

From the Portuguese Observador. David Silverman/Getty Images.
From the Portuguese Observador. David Silverman/Getty Images.

I’ve also spent four days in the stunning city of Edinburgh with the Partner in Crime.  We ate and drank everything, can y’all tell from my Instagram feed? I feel no shame! it was wonderful, but then it was straight back into work.

So, what do you guys think?  Is Portuguese food set to be a new thing?  How do you feel about food trends as it is?  Personally I think they’re good for introducing me to things I might not know about, as long as I can recreate them with seasonal ingredients that haven’t flown half way around the world.  Any thoughts guys?..

16 thoughts on “A Mention in The Telegraph for Our Supper Club Little Portuguese Kitchen!

  1. Wow amazing, well done you guys. We’ve got friends in Newcastle. I miss ‘up North’ now we’re over near Spain. What’s the supper club all about? Do you host people you know or strangers? It all sounds really amazing to me. Lx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d like to live away from it so I could miss it too! Gibraltar would be pretty perfect about now.
      The supper club is a bit like a restaurant in your home, but ticketed and for strangers! It’s so much fun and we’re meeting some lovely people who live in our city and we find out that we’re all connected in strange little ways. We thought the supper club would be a good way to see if we would want to take to a new business and to see if people would like what we produced. I’m hoping to do a few different ones over the next year. It’s a little extra income but mostly loads of extra fun. I’ve got a post dedicated to it which I keep adding to so it will appear! XX

      Like

  2. Wow that is incredible! Well done! I’ve just stalked your instagram and you went to some of my favourite places in Edinburgh, I hope you had a great time! Definitely spurred me on to make sure I am back living there before Christmas! H x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I could be pretty happy living in Edinburgh, even with my travel-itchy feet! We go up there quite often, not too far, cheap trains from Newcastle and my Partner in Crime has family there. If you get the chance I would love to hear about some of your favourite spots! XX

      Like

  3. Congratulations on the mention! And thanks for visiting my site. 🙂 As for Portuguese food, we don’t have many restaurants offering it, but I bet if more Americans knew how delicious Portuguese food can be, they’d dig it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

