Parsley Gnocchi – The End of The Bunch

baked_marabel_potatoes_for_gnocchi

The end of The Parsley Trilogy!  Am I sick of parsley?  Not one little bit, I actually bought the same sized bunch again today (along with all of the food) to go in some Minestrone (I’ll tell you about it later) and maybe some tabouleh but probably not as the weather is pretty grim here up North.

I had never eaten gnocchi.  Truth.  I do indeed love food, you’re right.  I absolutely love to eat, right again! But whenever I had seen gnocchi on the menu it’s just seemed too much, y’get me?  A plate full of what are essentially small potato dumplings sound like a food baby waiting to happen.  As I’ve eaten my way through them (and I have, greedily, covered in parsley & walnut pesto with truffle oil, mostly at midnight after work, in pyjamas watching old episodes of QI) I’ve realised that they are perfect in small doses.

sieving_marabel_potatoes_for_gnocchi

Were they a hassle to make? Nope.  Were they messy?  Only the fun kind.  The dough created is so soft and light I felt like a kid in the kitchen again.  They actually kept quite well in the fridge for a few days too,  I didn’t even cover them in oil.  Yeah, they stuck together ever so slightly but I’d rather pluck them apart a bit then coat them in oil (when I reheated them they were in oily pesto, I didn’t want double oil).

parsley_gnocchi_dough

The recipe I “followed” was this (The Parsley Gnocchi With Goat’s Curd and Hazelnuts about a third the way down the page – can you tell I was looking for inspiration?!) I’ve adapted it slightly.  The most important change being not to boil them for 5 minutes.  Madness.  If you don’t whip them out shortly after they float you will have nothing but lumpy potato water-broth-soup and have to start boiling water all over again.  Bleurgh.

freshly_cut_parsley_gnocchi

Would I change anything next time?  Absolutely.  Whilst they were delicious soft pillows of delight they were slightly sweet because the potatoes had been baked.  I should have known better. Next time I’ll be boiling the potatoes in their skins (minimises water absorption) in salty water.  They’d be perfect with a really sharp piquant sauce but I wasn’t expecting it.

This made enough for about six people for a light supper, about 72 pieces approximately.

1kg Marabel potatoes – I used Marabel because they have a butteryness I love
Large bunch of parsley, blitzed to a paste in a blender (I didn’t blanch it) – makes them green! Yay for green food!
1 beaten egg
300g plain flour
50g butter
Salt & pepper

I stabbed my potatoes four times with a knife and baked them at 200 for an hour.
I let them cool for about twenty minutes until I could hold them.
One by one I split them in two and turfed out their potato fluff into a sieve – I don’t own a potato ricer, got one? crack on – and pressed it through with the back of a spoon. Leave the potatoes in their skins until you’re ready to smoosh so they don’t dry out.
Add the parsley mush, butter, seasoning and flour.
Very gently bring all of this together, do not overwork the flour or the dough will be gluey and tough (the lightest muffins and fluffiest pancakes don’t have their batters beaten to death now, do they?).

Bring a large pot of salted water to a rolling boil.

Lightly flour your work surface and turn out the dough. I did it in four batches.
Keep the dough dusted with flour so it doesn’t stick, it’s very delicate.
Gently roll it into a rope about 1″-1.5″ wide. With a blunt knife bravely chop it into pieces, dusting the knife with flour if it begins to tear the dough.  Lightly coat them with flour so they don’t stick together. I pressed mine gently with a fork on an angle which is why they look like fatty ovals! Pop your pieces of gnocchi onto a plate.

I chopped half of my ropes at a time and then cooked them so I didn’t overcrowd my pan.  Use your judgement here with your pan size.  Tip the gnocchi off the plate and into the boiling water.  Whilst I waited for them to come to the surface – about 2-3 minutes – I chopped and plated the remaining half of the rope.  When they were floating around I used a sieve to lift them out onto a different plate and left them to cool for a couple of minutes, carefully draining any excess water.

I repeated this for all of the dough and piled them all onto one plate once they were cool.  They firmed up and were a little tacky but as long as I was gentle none of them broke or ripped apart.

That was it!  I covered them with cling film and kept them happily in the fridge.  They’ve been a good little stand by that’s quick to reheat, I’d probably feel healthier if I had them on a bed of spinach/rocket/chard but they were pretty tasty nonetheless.  I think next time I’ll hit up some butternut squash with sage, parmesan and a little chilli!

parsley_gnocchi

19 thoughts on “Parsley Gnocchi – The End of The Bunch

    1. Let me know how it goes if you get the chance! Only my first try but I already know I’ll be trying it again 🙂
      Your blog is beautiful, I really miss my old garden which was devoted to vegetables. Your photos are lovely and colourful and I have a severe case of Radish Envy right about now 🙂 Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  1. Oooh… I had a lot of fun looking through your parsley recipes (and I have a serious Thing for aglio, olio, peperoncino). I admit I get my gnocchi from the deli down the road (they do a great gorgonzola version). Just some garlic and sage in sizzling olive oil…
    OK, now I’m drooling.
    I’ll be back to read some more. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We just returned from Italy, and I have to say – I had one of the best dishes ever and it was gnocchi!. But they were super small, and covered with bottarga – what’s not to love about that, right? You are indeed brave for making the gnocchi from scratch! We are growing parsley in the garden now, so easy to grow and use. I’ll add this to the list of recipes to try.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very true, I’m afraid Arugula is one of the few things I cannot get along with – well, not true. There are some varieties of it that I can tolerate and the others must get off my plate immediately! 😉 I will absolutely give yours a shot, I imagine it would change the flavour – plus there is a rocket lover in this house alongside me. Thanks 😀

      Like

  3. I should not have checked this out just before dinner – it looks delicious and feel ashamed I’ve never made gnocchi. I’m seriously going to have to rectify this. Do you think it will work with lower fat butter? x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for liking my soup recipe! The gnocchi sounds and looks delicious. Also, I have a lot of potatoes on hand right now. I’m going to try it with gluten free flour and see if it sticks together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

