The Beginning of The Great Parsley Trilogy

Featured_parsley_bunchAlso known as “How the hell am I going to use up all that parsley without buying a ton of ingredients?”.  I needed some parsley for a lentil moussaka and this is what came home with me.  A mega Italian flat leaf monster!  I could not and would not let it go to waste.  I also wanted to use it up by incorporating things I already had.  Yeah, I could have made salsa verde for steak but there’s an extra (delicious) spend right there.  This girl is on a budget.

The crazy part of my life is still ongoing.  Little Portuguese Kitchen was an enormous success.  Demands were made for another event as soon as possible so we’re trying to find five minutes in which to pour over our diaries and select another two dates.

Throughout all of this, and other extra curricular life bull hockey, I’ve still been stuffing my face.  My own kitchen has taken a little bit of a back seat though.  There have still been the best meatballs ever (I’ll tell you about them, one day); a deeply savoury lentil moussaka; three different incarnations of saag paneer; my childhood gumbo soup and so much more.  For now though, I think the parsley trilogy is a good way to ease back in.

Coming over the next few days – also known as “When I make the time to write them up”..

aglio_e_olioAglio e Olio – Yep.  Apparently everyone knew about this but me.  Easy and awesome.

parsley_and_walnut_pesto Parsley and Walnut Pesto – With a little bit of truffle oil.  Maybe my new favourite thing.

parsley_gnocchiParsley Gnocchi – This stuff is incredible, my first attempt at making gnocchi and my first eating of it too.

And all of them are simple as.  Promise.

2 thoughts on “The Beginning of The Great Parsley Trilogy

  1. I’ve had good luck freezing fresh parsley in tightly rolled plastic bags. I followed some suggestions on the web on how to prepare it and wrap it, then I end up with these green logs of about a half cup each that are great to throw in recipes where they will be cooked. Sometimes you still need fresh, but these are good to have on hand.

    I hate dealing with the fresh herbs, but maybe I’m getting too old for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

