Nominated for a Liebster Award!

liebster-award

I want to say a big massive huge and ginormous thank you to A Vegan With a Plan for nominating me for a Liebster Award.  She’s a wonderful blogger I love to read and is a thoughtful commenter. Thank you!

Here are the rules..

  • Post the Liebster Award logo on your blog.
  • Link back to your nominator.
  • Answer the ten questions they set for you.
  • Nominate ten other bloggers for the award (preferably with under 200 followers) and let them know they’ve been nominated.
  • Set ten questions for them!

Here’s my little Q&A

What is your favorite kitchen tool?

Damn good question! I love my spatulas.  For ages after I moved house I didn’t think they were necessary, I’ve proved myself so wrong on many accounts.
The one which makes my life easier when I’m feeling really lazy is the garlic crusher.  Also, my mom’s old Kenwood mixer.  It’s traveled quite a journey!

What is your favorite food?

I love noodles.  Japanese noodles..  Ramen noodles.  They’re my great love.  I could eat them three times a day.
And bay leaf marinated beef espetadas.  And lasagne.  And mussels cooked with chorizo and chermoula. And brown rice & spinach. And soft scrambled eggs with hash browns..  I need to stop now.

What kind of camera do you use for blog photos?

Y’know.. I actually have a fancy pants DSLR, a tripod and lots of camera crap but the one I use all the time?  The little camera on my HTC One phone.  It’s a trooper.

What inspired you to start blogging?

I’d search the internet and look through recipe books for the dish I wanted to cook but the results that I found weren’t intense enough or wouldn’t come out the way I had imaged they would.  I’d find myself making my own adaptions constantly (I have a spiral bound book of scribbled recipes that I’ve cobbled together over many years).  People had been telling me for a long time that I should do something like this.  I’d look at some of the wonderful bloggers who have pioneered the way and thought I’d never compare but I slowly began to realise that it’s not about that.  So after a lot of thinking and fannying about I sat down on a cold evening before New Year’s Eve and got on with it.  It’s been lovely so far.  Here’s to making it a full year!

Do you have any hobbies?

I actually love RPG games.  Hah!  And I think the new Supper Club I’m starting with a friend will become a pretty serious hobby.

Which do you enjoy more, cooking or baking?

Cooking.  I have a sweet tooth but savory is calling my name every time.

If you could go on vacation anywhere in the world with the goal of trying local cuisine, where would you go?

Kerala, India.  Me and my partner in crime are actually planning an extended trip there some time in the coming year.

How much time do you spend blogging each week?

Pfft.  I’m still trying to settle into a routine that works with my routine which isn’t very routine.  When I sit to make, photograph and write a post I’ll probably spend the best part of three or four hours with it.

What is your favorite color?

I love mustard and turquoise, but wear mostly black.  I always have!

Food processor, essential or “nice to have”?

Hm.  I’ve actually been considering purchasing one recently (still thinking, as I’m trying to save hard for travelling).  I used to think that the blender could do everything in terms of finely mashing and chopping but it really can’t.  I need a food processor.  I think it’s going to be an essential!

I would like to nominate these blogs..

Grabbing the Gusto
My Shoebox Kitchen
Aberdeen’s Kitchen
Foodie*ism
Postcard.Cheese
Cheesy Biscuit
The Constant Grazer
Wood Kitchen
Sunsets and Cheese
Natascha’s Palace

My ten questions for you guys..

What inspired you to start a blog?
Which three dishes does your household demand regularly?
If you go out for dinner, what’s your first choice?
What was your favourite childhood dish?
If you could eat at the home of a well known chef, who would it be and why?
What are your two favourite cook books?
What is the weirdest food you have ever eaten?
Is there a dish you find challenging and are determined to conquer?!  (Don’t be shy, I’ve got loads!)
Is there a food item or dish you can’t abide?
Do you have a dish which you cook when you feel miserable?

I’ve nominated you all because I find your blogs valuable, so, thanks.

3 thoughts on “Nominated for a Liebster Award!

Leave a Reply

