Fast Falafel Wraps

An open falafel wrap

Exactly that.  Falafel wraps for lunch, and they took all of ten minutes, which was basically me puttering about lazily while the falafel heated up in the oven.

Flames brand Falafel

I know.  I’ve used ready made boxed Falafel.  When we were shopping yesterday (in one of the amazing Asian supermarkets in Fenham, the West End of Newcastle) I knew I wasn’t going to feel any better (I’ve got my first cold of the year) so I grabbed a box.  Plus, they’re delicious and don’t have any weird ingredients in them. So there.

coriander-with-chilli-and-garlic

In any of the Asian supermarkets we can buy four fresh naan or flat breads for £1.  Pretty awesome.  All I really needed to do was make a quick mayonnaise mix of crushed garlic, chilli and coriander then pile everything in.

flatbread-onion-tomato-parsley

I was assembling for two

2 large naan or flat breads
8 falafel
1 tomato, thinly sliced
4 thin slices of onion in rings
2 tbsp roughly chopped parsley
4 tbsp finely chopped coriander
1 mild heat chilli finely chopped
1 crushed garlic clove
2 heaped tablespoons of mayonnaise
pinch salt
pinch pepper
1 lemon for a few squeezes of juice
2 big handfuls of salad or lettuce or any leaf of your choice

Put the falafel in the oven to warm up. While they’re doing that..
Mix together the chopped chilli, crushed garlic, chopped coriander and mayonnaise with a squeeze of lemon juice.
Grab your breads and spread as much of this tasty mayo on as you’d like.
Top each with salad.
Put four falafel onto each salad pile.
Top with the onion, tomato, chopped parsley, a little extra lemon juice and more spiked mayonnaise if you want (I wanted!).

Roll up tight and eat.  Awesome.

Leave a Reply

