Bhindi Bhaji on the Fly

Stuff the big supermarkets, beautiful fresh tomatoes and coriander from the local Asian grocer.
Stuff the big supermarkets, beautiful fresh tomatoes and coriander from the local Asian grocer.

I happen to live around the corner from Asda.  I also can’t remember what day it is, I’m all skewiff because of the festive season.  So when I got off the bus after work at about 6pm it was shut.  Of course it was shut.  It’s Sunday.

This was meant to happen.  I went to the Asian supermarket around the other corner instead.  The place I should have gone to first.

I stropped my tired hungry self around the shop throwing items in the basket; Five ripe tomatoes, a bunch of fresh coriander and two packets of frozen okra.  I know, it’s not seasonal.  I’m sorry.  I was hungry!

I think I’ve made enough to feed six people.
The quantities below will feed two who are hungry.

2 tbsp vegetable/rapeseed oil
1 large onion, halved and sliced across the rings
2 tsp black mustard seeds
3 ripe tomatoes, chopped
2 tsp ground coriander
2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground fenugreek
400g okra (mine was frozen so maybe 500g fresh)
1 or 2 hot chilies, cut slits into them
2 tbsp chopped fresh coriander
Salt

Pour the oil into a large pan and add the onions, coat them with the oil and let them start to heat up. Add the mustard seeds and when they begin to crackle throw in the tomatoes.
When the tomatoes begin to soften and release their juice add the ground spices and mix thoroughly. Add in all of the okra, the one or two chillies and then season to taste.
Let everything bubble for about ten minutes, adjust the seasoning if you need to.
Turn off the heat and stir in the fresh coriander.
Absolutely grate in an inch of fresh ginger if you want to, I just didn’t have any.

I had mine on a mound of brown rice cooked with a bay leaf and nine cardamom pods. I put it on to cook before I did anything else. Y’know, brown rice taking so long and all.

Leave a Reply

